South Carolina SC Fast Facts SC Marriage Licenses
Also see: SC Wedding Guide
FEATURED SC Wedding Resources
Feature Your SC Wedding Resource Here
How To Apply For A Marriage License In SC
Marriage licenses in South Carolina are issued by each county's probate judge. Due to COVID-19 safety measures, application procedures can vary widely county to county. Contact the office of the
South Carolina county probate judge you will be filing at to confirm that office's requirements.
To get married in the state of South Carolina, you need to obtain a marriage license. South Carolina does issue marriage licenses for same-sex couples. The following requirements apply to both residents and non-residents:
- Prior to COVID-19 safety measures, both parties had to appear together at the office of a
South Carolina county probate judge and file a written application. This application asks for the full name, social security number or alien identification number, age, and place of residence of each person. Some counties are accepting applications online or via mail. Contact the county probate court office you will be filing with to confirm that office's requirements.
- Applications require documents to be submitted for legal proof of identification and social security number. Some probate judges require both applicants to show their social security cards.
- There is a waiting period after the application is filed before the license will be processed and the marriage can take place. This waiting period varies from county to county, so please contact the applicable
county probate judge at least one week before you plan to get married.
- If you are 18 years old or older, you do not need parental consent. But you must
provide proof of your age (or simply identification if you're over age 25) by presenting one of the following:
– Valid driver's license or state-issued identification card
– Original birth certificate or a certified copy of your birth certificate
– Current military identification card
– Current passport; plus current visa attached if not a US citizen
- If you are under the age of 18, parental consent can be granted for boys and girls who are at least 16 years old. All minor applicants must file an original birth certificate or a certified copy of their birth certificate, which becomes a part of their permanent application record. Prior to COVID-19 safety measures, the parent or legal guardian of a minor applicant had to appear at the same time as the minor to present identification and sign a form consenting to the marriage. Contact the appropriate
county probate judge for current requirements.
- No blood test or physical exam is required.
- South Carolina residency is not required.
- A South Carolina license can be used in any county in the state.
- If recently divorced, legal proof of the divorce may be needed. This varies by county so please contact the appropriate county probate judge to confirm that county's requirement.
- The fee for a marriage license varies from county to county.
- A South Carolina marriage license is valid only for marriages performed in South Carolina.
- The length of validity of a South Carolina marriage license varies from county to county. Some expire after six months with others not expiring and are valid for use anytime.
- Learn more about South Carolina laws concerning marriage and marriage licenses.
Related SC Wedding Resources