Aiken County, South Carolina

South Carolina SC Counties Aiken County Aiken County, located near the mid-point of South Carolina's 250-mile border with Georgia, was created in 1871 from parts of Edgefield, Lexington, Orangeburg, and Barnwell counties. The expansion of railroads during that time caused population growth throughout the area. The County and City of Aiken were named for William Aiken, president of the SC Railroad and Canal Company.

Aiken County is also the center of South Carolina's "Thoroughbred Country." Famous for the spring Triple Crown that includes flatracing, steeplechases, and polo, the area is known for stables and racehorse training as well.

The City of Aiken is Aiken County's largest city and county seat. Here is a map of the Aiken area.

If you are planning a trip to Aiken, we also feature a helpful guide to Aiken hotels.

General Information, Jobs

Maps, Transportation


Recreation, Entertainment, Tourism

Real Estate, Relocation

Business Resources



Schools, Colleges, Libraries

Aiken County Hospitals, Community Organizations

© 2024, LLC  |  All Rights Reserved