South Carolina Historically Black Colleges, Universities

South Carolina SC Education SC Colleges Historically Black SC Colleges, Universities Also see: All Historically Black Schools & Libraries in South Carolina

Historically Black Colleges in SC

  • Allen University

    Founded in 1870 as Payne Institute in Hodges, this 4-year private university is now located in Columbia.

  • Benedict College

    This private 4-year college was founded in Columbia in 1869.

  • Claflin University

    Located in Orangeburg, Claflin University is a 4-year private university that was founded in 1869.

  • Clinton College

    This private college offers 4-year degrees and was founded in Rock Hill in 1894.

  • Friendship Junior College

    Founded in 1891, Friendship Junior College was a private 2-year college in Rock Hill closed in 1981. It achieved nationwide fame during the Civil Rights Movement when 8 of its students, along with a field secretary for the Congress of Racial Equality, staged a sit-in at McCrory's, a segregated lunch counter located near the campus.

  • Harbison Junior College - PDF

    Closed in 1958, this private 2-year college was founded in Abbeville in 1898; it moved to Irmo in 1911.

  • Hospital and Nurses Training School

    This private, specialized college was founded in Charleston in 1897 but closed its doors in 1976.

  • Morris College

    Based in Sumter, this private 4-year college has been educating students since 1908.

  • South Carolina State University

    This public, 4-year university is located in Orangeburg was founded in 1896. In 1968, it was the site of the infamous Orangeburg Massacre, a police shootout that left three students dead and 27 injured.

  • Voorhees College

    This Denmark landmark was founded in 1897 and is a private 4-year institute.

© 2016, LLC  |  All Rights Reserved